Girls just wanna have fun.

17 Jul
A mullet and a shag. God help us.

A mullet and a shag. God help us.

Sometimes you just have to forgive yourself for bad hair choices. In my defense, I must say that it was the Eighties and mullets were practically mandatory in my circle of local rock legends. I also was responsible for Lucia’s shag.

Mea culpa.

The difference is, I paid big bucks for my haircut (sheared by the lead singer of my favorite band) and Lucia’s was free. Yes, I admit it. I gave her the haircut. And the perm.

Mea maxima culpa.

But forget the haircuts for a moment. Isn’t this a totally sweet mother-daughter photo? Lucia and I have been resting our heads on each other’s shoulders and smiling as big as the sky for as long as I can remember. We’ve had our share of nasty spats, but we’ve always been each other’s security blanket, through good haircuts and bad.

2 Responses to “Girls just wanna have fun.”

  1. Norma Jackson Harvey July 24, 2009 at 7:56 am #

    Liz, I am enjoying this website so much. I check in every month to see how my Aunt Lucia is doing. I have such fond memories of her spir-fire personality through the years. Thanks for doing this. It makes me miss my mother.

  2. iluvlucia August 26, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    Thanks for the compliment, Norma. It’s great to be in touch with you again. Even though we don’t talk often, I know you’re out there and I love you. ❤

Leave a comment